Rock Physics for Geophysical Reservoir Characterization and Recovery Monitoring

Instructors: Gary Mavko
Date: Nov. 2 - Nov. 3, 2016
Duration: 2 days
Members (early bird/price): CAD$ 800/1000 (plus GST)
Non-members (early bird/price): CAD$ 900/1100 (plus GST)
Location: TBD
Time: 8:30 am - 4:30 pm

Course Description

This course presents an introduction to Applied Rock Physics, ranging from basic laboratory and theoretical results to practical “recipes” that can be immediately applied in the field.  We will present field examples and strategies for understanding the rock physics behind seismic interpretation for lithology, pore fluid types and saturation (oil, water, steam, gases), pore pressure, and fractures.  We will also talk about pitfalls and how to avoid them.

The course is recommended for all geophysicists, reservoir geologists, seismic interpreters, and engineers concerned with interpretation of seismic data for facies mapping, reservoir characterization, hydrocarbon detection, and reservoir production monitoring.


Gary Mavko received his B.S. in Engineering Physics from Cornell University in 1972, and his M.S. (1974) and Ph.D. (1977) in Geophysics from Stanford University.  He spent the next 6 years at the U.S. Geological Survey in Menlo Park.  In 1984 he joined Entropic Geophysical, Inc., a seismic processing contractor, as a research geophysicist.  Gary returned to Stanford University in 1989 where he is a Professor in the Department of Geophysics, and co-Director of the Stanford Rock Physics and Borehole Geophysics Project.  His research and teaching is in the area of Rock Physics.  His current focus is to develop ways to use rock physics knowledge to help bridge the gaps between seismic methods, interpretation, reservoir flow simulations, and geostatistics.  Gary (along with Tapan Mukerji and Jack Dvorkin) published “The Rock Physics Handbook” in 1998 and (with Per Avseth and Tapan Mukerji) Quantitative Seismic Interpretation, in 2005.  He was awarded “Honorary Membership” by the SEG in 2001 and was the Spring 2006 SEG Distinguished Lecturer.  He shared (along with Tapan Mukerji, Jack Dvorkin, and Dario Grana) the 2014 ENI Award for “New Frontiers in Hydrocarbons.”