Introduction to Seismic Reservoir Characterization

Instructor: Patrick Connolly
Date: November 06 - 07, 2018
Duration: 2 days
Members (early bird/price): CAD$ 800/1000 (plus GST)
Non-members (early bird/price): CAD$ 900/1100 (plus GST)
Location: TBA
Time: TBA

Course Description

This course will provide participants with an introduction into modern approaches to seismic reservoir characterization using established best-practice and emerging technology.  The course covers AVO theory and practice in both the reflectivity and impedance domain including elastic and extended elastic impedance, and inversion including coloured inversion, seismic net pay and deterministic and probabilistic methods.

This is a two-day classroom based course using examples, laptop based exercises and discussion. The course will be delivered at a basic level. Participants should have a working knowledge of the seismic method, including acquisition and processing. The subject matter of this course, AVO and inversion, is covered from basic principles.


Patrick Connolly is a consultant geophysicist specializing in seismic reservoir characterization.  After a lengthy career, largely with BP, he retired in 2015 as BP Senior Advisor for Geophysical Analysis.  He now runs his own company providing training courses to the industry.

Patrick began his career as a data processor and then programmer before a move into analysis and interpretation in exploration and appraisal teams in offshore West Africa, Gulf-of-Mexico and the North Sea / West of Shetlands. It was here that he developed the elastic impedance concept for which he later received the SEG Virgil Kauffman Gold Medal.  He was also a co-developer of Extended Elastic Impedance now widely used throughout the industry.  During the latter part of his career Patrick spent time in technology management and R&D project leadership where he developed the seismic net pay method and the probabilistic inversion application ODiSI.  Patrick served as an EAGE distinguished lecturer in 2007 and 2018 and a SEG Distinguished Lecturer in 2010.