CSEG Foundation

About The CSEG Foundation

The CSEG Foundation is the registered charitable arm of the Canadian Society of Exploration Geophysicists (CSEG). Our mission is to encourage and support scientific, educational and charitable activities that benefit geophysicists through the solicitation of contributions aimed at promoting the development of geophysical knowledge, education and public awareness. Based in Calgary, we are a Canadian foundation with initiatives all across Canada.

Our activities are intended to supplement and support other CSEG committees by creating and increasing the Foundation's endowments in order to:

  • Establish programs supporting education in geophysics and the earth sciences;
  • Support post-secondary education in geophysics and the earth sciences, including the CSEG scholarship programs;
  • Support continuing education of geophysicists;
  • Support scientific activities and academic research programs;
  • Support the development and improvement of geophysical methods;
  • Liaise with other geophysical foundations throughout the world (e.g. SEG Foundation)
  • Support the preservation of the history of geophysical exploration.

The activities of the CSEG Foundation are carried out by dedicated volunteer CSEG members. Across Canada, the CSEG has a membership of 2000, which includes a student membership of 300. Its aim is to promote the science of geophysics as well as fellowship and cooperation among members.

The inspiration to form the CSEG Foundation and raise funds to support these activities come from the CSEG members' strong commitment to their profession and desire to create awareness and support study of the science of geophysics.

CSEG Foundation Directors 2019-20

  • Allan Chatenay
    Director & Chair - Fund Development Committee
  • David Cho
    Director & Treasurer
  • Tammy Wilmer
    Director and Assistant Treasurer
  • Kathleen Dorey
    Director & Chair of the Board
  • Cecil Keeping
  • John Parkin
    Director & Vice Chair of the Board
  • Kristy Manchul
    Director & Chair - Communications Committee
  • Darren Kondrat
    Director & Vice Chair – Fund Development Committee
  • Neil Rutherford
    Director at Large
  • Nancy Shaw
    Director & Secretaryy
  • Adrian Smith
    Director & Chair – Outreach Committee
  • Rob McGrory
    Director & Chair - Scholarship Committee.
  • Jim Racette
    Managing Director
Foundation Members

CSEG Foundation Governance

Audited Financial Statements

CSEG Foundation Annual Reports

CSEG Foundation Report to Donors

CSEG Annual Report to Members