Join the CSEG!

Membership Benefits Brochure

Thank you for your interest in our Society. The CSEG was established in 1949, and today hosts approximately 600 members. An estimated 60% of our members are geophysicists actively involved in hydrocarbon exploration. Others are academics, geologists, technical specialists, field specialists and other interested industry personnel.

The objective of the Society is to promote the science of geophysics, especially as it applies to exploration, and to promote fellowship and co-operation among those persons interested in geophysical prospecting.

The CSEG is associated, as a local section, with the SEG — Society of Exploration Geophysicists — headquartered in Tulsa, Oklahoma. A majority of our professional members are active members in the SEG and also some CSEG members are members of the EAGE — European Association of Geoscientists and Engineers. A majority of our professional members are also registered with APEGA — The Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Alberta — which is the licensing body for our profession in Alberta.

Activities of the CSEG are primarily directed toward the exchange of technical information. With frequent lunch time presentations from our technical groups and a three day technical convention, generally held in May. Attendance at these functions earns points towards APEGA’s Continuing Competency and Professional Career Development. The CSEG also acts to provide feedback on technical matters to various government agencies.

Other activities in addition to the technical aspect, are directed toward social interaction between members. The Society has various committees that arrange activities such as curling, golf, and skiing for the membership.

Volunteering to assist in the operation of the CSEG and its various functions is a fulfilling and enjoyable way of meeting many of the CSEG members. There are many committees with which you could provide valuable assistance. There are the Annual Joint Convention, Technical Luncheon, RECORDER, Journal, Doodlebug Golf, T-wave Golf, DoodleSpiel, and Doodletrain committees, just to mention a few.

In summary, the Canadian Society of Exploration Geophysicists is a well supported, dynamic organization providing facility for fellowship and exchange of technical information to its members.

Classes of Membership

Membership in the Society shall consist of Active/Unemployed/Retired Members (Level 1, 2 & 3), Student Members, Corporate Members, and Honorary Members,.

Active/Unemployed/Retired Membership

Membership may be granted to any person engaged or interested in the geophysical profession.

Level 1 – Based on a annual salary of $24,999 or less
Level 2 – Based on a salary between $25,000 – $49,999

Level 3 – Based on a salary of $50,000 and above

Student Membership

Student Membership may be granted to any Student having an active interest in supporting the objectives of the Society. Student members shall enjoy all privileges of the Society except that they shall not hold office, nor shall they endorse applications for any class of membership, nor vote on any matters. Student Membership in 2022 is generously sponsored by SIGMA.

Honorary Membership

Honorary Membership may be granted by the Executive Committee to any person who in the unanimous opinion of the Committee on Honors and Awards and the Executive Committee is considered worthy of such honor by reason of unusual service to the Society or outstanding work in the field of geophysics. Honorary members shall be elected for life and shall enjoy all privileges of the Society. They shall be eligible to hold any office, to vote on all matters submitted to the membership, and to petition the Executive Committee on any matter.