CSEG Scholarship Trust Fund

Geographic distribution of applications and Scholarship awards in 2016
Geographic distribution of applications and Scholarship awards in 2016

Established in 1970, the CSEG Scholarship Trust Fund awards annual scholarships to deserving geophysics students from universities across Canada. These scholarships are funded primarily through generous corporate and individual donations, and also through interest generated by the memorial trust fund for Rob Shugg. In order to qualify for an award, students must be enrolled at a Canadian university in an academic program leading to an exploration geophysics career in industry, teaching or research. Scholarships are awarded on the basis of academic performance, financial need, interest in geophysics and extra-curricular activities.

In 2012 the Foundation introduced a new scholarship in response to the emergence of geoscience technology programs across the country. To be eligible, students must be enrolled full-time at an accredited educational institution in Canada leading to a degree in geoscience technology (oil and gas, mining, etc.). Also, in 2013, the Foundation introduced new university entrance scholarships, aimed at high school students. One scholarship is for students who are planning on pursuing a science-based post-secondary education and the other is designated for the children of CSEG members.

Interested in applying for a CSEG Foundation University or Technologist Scholarship?

Eligibility Requirements, in addition to the above:

  • A student must be pursuing a course of studies directed toward a career in exploration geophysics or a dependent of a CSEG member attending a university or technical institute.
  • Applicants must be or become a CSEG student member or have a parent who is a CSEG member.

Please complete the application form: CSEG Scholarship Application Form and email to Additional application requirements are given in the application form.

Applications open: September 1, 2017
Application deadline: November 1, 2017
Awards notification: December 1, 2017

Interested in applying for a $500 CSEG Foundation University Entrance Scholarship?

Eligibility Requirement:

  • EITHER be a high-school student who will be entering a Canadian university into a science-based program in Fall 2017,
  • OR be a high-school student who will be entering into any Canadian university program in Fall 2017 and be a dependent of a CSEG member.

Please complete the application form: CSEG Scholarship Application Form and email to

Applications open: March 1, 2017
Application deadline: June 15, 2017
Awards notification: July 1, 2017

If you have any further questions please do not hesitate to contact a member of the committee at

Chair: Craig Mosher
Senior Trustee: Steven Kim
Junior Trustee: Ian Watson

Glen Ruby Memorial Scholarships

ConocoPhillips Canada is proud to continue the ConocoPhillips Glen Ruby Memorial Scholarships in Geosciences. These scholarships are presented each year to second, third and fourth years students to promote excellence in petroleum GEOLOGY and GEOPHYSICS.

ConocoPhillips Canada is pleased to recognize and honour a pioneer who has had a lasting influence on the Canadian Oil and Gas industry. From 1926 to 1929, Glen Ruby was Vice President and General Manager of Marland Oil's Canadian partnership, Hudson's Bay Oil and Gas. While in Alberta he was a driving force behind the inaugural meeting and formation of the Alberta Society of Petroleum Geologists (renamed Canadian Society of Petroleum Geologists in 1972). Glen Ruby dedicated his life to exploration and has been recognized as one of the great pioneers in the global search for oil and gas. In addition to Canada, he successfully explored for oil in Chile, Alaska and the US Rocky Mountain basins. At one time he was credited with having made the most northerly and southerly oil discoveries in the world.

Since inception, the Canadian Society of Petroleum Geologists has been a forum for sharing ideas and knowledge about the geology of Western Canada and the Canadian frontiers. This knowledge exchange has played a fundamental role in the successful development of the Canadian oil industry. Glen Ruby's legacy thrives three quarters of a century later.

ConocoPhillips has been active in Canada since 1880 through the activities of heritage companies including Continental Oil Company, Marland Oil/ Hudson's Bay Oil and Gas, British American, Royalite, Asamera, Pennzoil, Stampeder, Mannville, Crestar, Gulf Canada Resources, Poco, Canadian Hunter, Burlington Resources, Conoco Canada, and Phillips Petroleum. We proudly honour Glen Ruby as a pioneer and industry leader and we are pleased that the memorial scholarships will assist in the development of future geoscientists.

For more info please visit the CSPG Scholarships Page